Journey back to old school D&D: Part 1

TSR’s Night’s Dark Terror module for b/x D&D

Since 2016 my GM efforts have been exclusively in BRP/d100-land, playing the original version of Masks of Nyarlathotep for 6th edition Call of Cthulhu. The campaign was set on hold during the COVID-19 pandemic since we wanted to play live. At the same time, one of my players started an online old-school D&D game on Roll20 to keep us in play. The module chosen was Night’s Dark Terror and the rules were Rules Cyclopedia/BECMI. Playing online is not as fun and immersive as playing live, but it got us hooked and after the pandemic, we have alternated between my Call of Cthulhu game and my buddy’s D&D campaign.

Being an old-school D&D player has been great fun and over time the notion of getting an OSR-style campaign going has grown on me, to the point that I have now begun planning for such a game after we finish the current Call of Cthulhu campaign. The system I have chosen is Castles & Crusades and the setting will be in Greyhawk in the time frame of the 1983 gold box.

More on this will follow in my next blog post…

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.