Castles & Crusades with my daughter today!

 

 

drawing

Eryn the Elf Ranger. By my daughter.

 

Première for Castles & Crusades with my daughter today! She’s 11 years old and my hope for gaming 🙂 I’ve tried to hook her older brother on RPGs for several years now, but he doesn’t seem to get the thing with fantasy or sci-fi, or gaming. Truth to say, he’s more of the sporty type. And of course – music, buddies, and girls are more interesting to him at this point. My daughter, on the other hand, is all into fantasy and is devouring Harry Potter, The Hobbit, and other fantasy classics appropriate for her age.

 

game

Pink gaming scene. Sitting on the floor like in the beginning.

 

Yesterday was character generation day and she made an Elf Ranger. I suggested a second character as she’s the only player but she wanted to run just one character. To boost her chances a bit I gave her an animal companion – a white wolf that she’s had since it was a little cub – an idea that she just loved.

We started with her having just arrived in the little village of Malforten, where she spoke to people and got her “mission” – to track down the notorious gnoll bandit leader Gritznak and his gang of goblinoid no-good’s that has terrorized the area for a long time.

 

game2

Rolling dice is fun!

 

She started out by going to the Craggy Ridge hill north of the village, to get an overview of the terrain. Up there, she found distinct tracks from several wolves, which she thought might be goblin riders (I’ve seen The Hobbit – duh!). She then tracked them along the river for several days, meeting no one, into the badlands of the western part of Fallow Hills. In the first night up there, she was attacked by two goblin zombies but managed to slay them using her two short swords (and with the assistance of the wolf of course). The next day she found the creepy statue of the Horned One and managed to find the hidden path leading to the temple ruins. The night is coming and she just found the hole with the stairs down into darkness… And that’s where we had to stop today’s session. Awesome fun!


It was the first time I ran Castles & Crusades so it was premiére for us both, and I must say that it was a very pain-free experience. The SIEGE Engine takes a little to get used to as GM, but it’s logical and dead simple and worked like a charm. I like. I just included the Players Handbook for starters, but will add stuff from the other books over time. If the game works this good over coming sessions I will definitely use C&C for my main game group as well, retiring Blood & Treasure for a while.

The adventure looked a little bland when I read it, but as we played I immediately saw lots of adventure hooks in the area. However, I dearly miss maps of Malforten and a better map of the area, as the original area map doesn’t make sense when compared to the big Aihrde maps. These little hiccups aside, I think that A0 – Rising Knight is a solid “beginners sandbox”.

And tomorrow, we’ll continue into the darkness below the ruins…

 

One thought on “Castles & Crusades with my daughter today!

Leave a Reply

