Lazy Sod Press | On Grognardism and skill checks

swords2020wizardry20core20rules-500x500

Coolest Swords & Wizardry cover evar…

I have gotten some feedback that my inclusion of “skill checks” (albeit clearly labeled as optional) in my self-published S&W adventures might not be in the vein of old school gaming.

I do realize that inclusion of skill checks in old school games is a bit controversial in some circuits, but it is how I play when using the S&W rules, and I wanted to include my own system as a variant rules option for those so inclined.

However, I hear you and in the future I will exclude skill checks in the S&W versions of my adventures, keeping it cleaner and more in line with the aesthetics of the old school crowd. I will also release an “Olde Grognard” PDF version of the already published modules, with the skill checks removed and instead publish a free PDF with optional skill check rules for S&W for those who enjoy such things.

Old Schoolers – dawnrazor has your grognard a**es covered 🙂

And with that I wish you all a nice weekend!

Leave a Reply

