The Rules Cyclopedia

Rules Cyclopedia

I just love this book. Despite the crappy layout, invisible page numbering and the super dorky art.

When a game is missing a rule, this is where I go to see how it was done before. And it’s there. In one place.

We used RC to play Caverns of Thracia and it worked just fine. I also remembered why I didn’t like race-as-class before. The 36 levels + 36 more in “Wrath of the Immortals” is also just too much, so I probably won’t use the rules as is again.

But as a rules reference it’s simply the best.

Note to self: Somewhere down the line I must do a “Flavors of the OSR”-review on this one.

One thought on “The Rules Cyclopedia

  1. Sums up exactly how I feel about the RC. I own two, simply for nostalgia and affection. I was surprised when, in my own work, it became a kind of “all-in-one” sample which served as a jumping off point when creating my own work.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

