I’m on the fence for my next Dark Fantasy project…

Dark…

Let me explain.

After our foray into d100 Ravenloft-land, I was planning to run some Warhammer Fantasy Roleplay (2e). Now, work demands have increased a lot as my PhD dissertation is due this fall, and I feel my time for first learning and then introducing a new game to my players might be too much.

Thus, I’m contemplating placing Warhammer on hold until after the book and Dissertation Seminar is over.

I want to play, though. Writing and prepping games are good relaxation for the mind and actually helps me focus on research tasks, so to put gaming on pause is not an option.

Before Warhammer, I was working on some Dark Fantasy plugins to adapt Blood & Treasure for my Nexus Mundi setting, but then Fantastic Heroes & Witchery hit the Lulu store at the end of 2013. And it really straightened out most of the things I miss in most “standard OSR” games.

Going the Fantastic Heroes & Witchery route would undeniably smoothen out the learning curve and let us cut to the action easier than starting up a completely new game from scratch. Not to mention the time that I would save as GM.

As I write this I think I decide to go with FH&W until my PhD is done and over with…

Leave a Reply

