OSR game choices and roadmap for anno domini 2014

While I’ve been preparing for our upcoming OpenQuest powered Ravenloft game I’ve also read a lot on the OSR front. And I must say that Fantastic Heroes & Witchery has replaced Blood & Treasure as my favourite mash-em-all-up OSR game. If you’re interested in OpenQuest, I’ve written some on that on my d100 blog Liber Malum.

Fantastic Heroes & Witchery Blood & Treasure Complete

I’m going to use Blood & Treasure for my standard-ish D&D games, like playing old modules and adventures in Mystara or Greyhawk. I love how the author has taken the best stuff from all editions of the game and mashed it up into a very complete and all-encompassing game, which is yet simple.

For my home-brew Dark D&D-games in The World Between it’s definitely going to be Fantastic Heroes & Witchery. It’s got that dark fantasy vibe which I really like. Also very complete, but with a different scope.

I was going to use B&T, and I have a lot of house-rule notes on how to make B&T “darker”, but reading FH&W that work has already been done for me. Maybe I’ll compile my notes into a nice looking PDF and release to you guys. That will have to wait, though, as I’m in the final stages of my PhD work and my creative and intellectual energy has to be focussed on science for now.

_________________________________________________________________________

Where was I…? Roadmap, yes…

One. Ravenloft powered by OpenQuest 2.

We’ll play “Night of the Walking Dead”, and see how it plays out. If successful, we’ll make it into a campaign in Ravenloft. Night of the Walking Dead

 

Two. Warhammer Fantasy Roleplay 2e.

I just got my hands on these excellent books. Can’t understand why I dissed them before. For dark fantasy, this is da shit. I want to run the “Enemy Within” campaign, so we’ll probably start that one out. Maybe play the first book and see how it’s received by my players. Originally, I planned to use Lamentations of the Flame Princess, but seeing the original rules I knew that LotFP would be a bleak substitute. The Enemy Within

Three. Achtung! Cthulhu.

I’m planning to take a break from fantasy, and try out my new shiny A!C books. Probably we’ll run “The Trellborg Monstosities”. WW2 commandoes, Sten-guns, evil nazis in league with Thing Man Was Not Meant To Know, desolate and snow-ridden landscapes. What’s not to like…? The Trellborg Monstrosities

Given our one-maybe-two sessions a month I think this will be more than enough, but if I have the time we’ll cram in…

Four. Renaissance/Clockwork & Chivalry.

One of the shorter adventures, maybe. Awesome stuff. Renaissance Deluxe

Cakebread & Walton along with d101 games are in my opinion the new leaders of d100 gaming, along with the RuneQuest 6 guys at The Design Mechanism and the Glorantha people at Moon Design.

I’ll write more on these  topics on my d100 blog and my dark fantasy blog.

 

 

Leave a Reply

