Nexus Mundi is born

After returning to pen and paper rpg’s after many years, I had a hard time deciding on (i) what gaming system to use and (ii) what world to adventure in.

To get things going, we ended up playing Rules Cyclopedia D&D in Mystara/The Known World. Great fun, but it wasn’t what I was looking for in the longer run.

Mystara was also very different from the version I used back in the day. I checked out Greyhawk and Forgotten Realms. OK settings, but too polished and too high fantasy for my tastes these days.

Then I happened to stumble upon Jack Shear’s “Tales of the Grotesque and Dungeonesque” (TotGaD). And it all fell into place.

TotGaD takes inspiration from Ravenloft and Warhammer’s Old World and mixes with equal parts Gothic Horror and Weird Fantasy, to produce an awesome and hugely inspirational mix, where Fantasy meets Horror in the World Between.

The World Between is not presented with maps and political info. Instead, the author writes short and evocative texts, describing the people and the place. It really, really triggered my imagination, and now I’m working on my own adaptation of Jack Shear’s work: Nexus Mundi.

I will also be forever thankful to Mr Shear for pointing me to Ravenloft and Warhammer. Awesome settings/games, and very much what I want for my old school games.

Next up: An OSR gaming system for Nexus Mundi

2 thoughts on “Nexus Mundi is born

Leave a Reply

